First Time Out

Yesterday saw me get my first fleet action in [TBRA].
It has shown me that this is the direction I want to go in with YV, and I will keep true to this course.
There is just something very exhillirating about PvP in EVE Online.

After logging into TS and EVE, I asked if there was a fleet going/soon to leave.
Promptly, I was notified of checking Fleet Finder, a tool I must learn to use to its full effect.
Some might think it rude being referred to Fleet Finder, but I think it negates lots of hassle of x-ing up in specific channels.
Plus, I think it’s a great tool to have and use.

So, after the fleet was joined, I had to find out where the fleet was.
Lucky for me, ample information was available over TS, and I was able to join the people already out and about in Hodazeko.

Scant minutes later, we got word of a few neuts in system, and the decision was made to engage.
Upon entering the belt, I quickly locked onto a target and activated my mods.
Unfortunatly, they had a numerical advantage, which led to the loss of my Merlin.

As my Merlin was entering structure, I opened the Pod Saver tab on my Overview (seriously, get one if you already haven’t) and was able to get my pod out by warping to a random planet.
At least I got to keep those implants in my head.

Now, the most logical thing to do would be to dock up and reship, but here I encountered a little snag 😦
Due to RL, I haven’t had time to handle the logistical issues of my mover from Hi-Sec to Lo-Sec, so onwards to Hek it was, all the while hoping my pod didn’t get turned into space dust.
After an uneventfull trip, I was able to reship in Hek, and get myself a load of pre-fitted ships for just such an occasion, I just need to get them to our HQ in a timely fashion.

After this, the call came out for a trip to Amamake, which I happily joined, as this noob needs training and experience in gang warfare.
The trip there was pretty uneventfull for me, apart from me engaging on gates a couple of times, gates with gateguns…
Suffice to say that those guns quickly found me, and started shooting me.
Lucky me, I got out in time on all occasions, and was able to rep the armor damage (hull was still burning though).

Then we came to Amamake, where I was able to get on this Hurricane kill.
As I was not inside Web/Scram/Gun range, I had to burn towards the Cane, and by the time I had acquired lock and had a nice comfortable orbit around the Cane, it was nearly done for.
I just had time to fire one volley with my cannons, for the “epic damage” of 57…
Unfortunatly, time was starting to run out for me, and I had to dock up, thus missing out on more fleet fun.

Another nice little extra I got yesterday evening is that my Security Status has now gone to the negative side!
Allthough I’m only at -0.06 Security Status (which is only small), I think this is a turning point in my EVE Career, and I already look forward to the day when i can display a true -10.0.

Looking back, I can say that I have missed out on a lot of fun with my Carebear ways, and will continue to fly in fleets and have a go at Pew Pew.
I had loads of fun in this fleet, and would like to thank the guys of [TBRA] of letting me fly with them, and for the help some of them have given me over the course of yesterday evening.

As a closing statement, I would like to give these two pieces of advice:
1: Don’t engage on gates with guns in a Frig!
2: Seriously, don’t!

~ by Yrielle Vandis on July 14, 2010.

5 Responses to “First Time Out”

  1. My first “PVP” experience was attacked a frigate in my Rifter forgot I was in a 0.5 system and the gate guns weren’t forgiving.. 🙂 live and learn I guess

  2. Sounds like you had a ball first roam out. Me too; joined about same time as you by the looks, must get together for a hunt ;). I too have fallen prey to gate guns but wasn’t lucky enough to escape.

Leave a comment